Who We Are


The mission of the International Society for Bipolar Disorders (ISBD) is to foster international collaboration in education and research.  

The intent of this collaboration is to advance the treatment of bipolar disorders and to improve outcomes and the quality of life for those living with bipolar disorder and their caregivers. 


ISBD was launched in Pittsburgh, PA, USA on June 17, 1999 by Dr. David Kupfer, Founding President, and Dr. Ellen Frank.

The official launch took place at the 3rd International Conference on Bipolar Disorders, where materials were distributed to all of the delegates inviting them to enroll in membership.

About ISBD

Bipolar disorder is a severe and debilitating mental illness, which has in the past decade started to receive the necessary attention from society, researchers, practitioners, government, and private funding agencies. 

ISBD was created in response to further need for:

  • Awareness
  • Education
  • Research

The Society is growing in membership with an elected board representing 15 countries and over 700 members representing nearly 60 countries.

ISBD is a major source for emerging research and clinical data on bipolar disorders and is the only bipolar-focused, research-oriented Society working to bring this data to:

  • Patients
  • Families
  • Mental health professionals working on the front lines of bipolar care

The Society currently offers several educational programs, including the Samuel Gershon Awards for Junior Investigators for best original research manuscripts, online training opportunities for young clinicians, and a mentorship program. In addition to its work to support bipolar education among trainees, fellows and young investigators, the ISBD is also moving the field forward through the development of task forces in the areas of child and adolescent bipolar disorder, transcultural needs, staging, women’s health and bipolar disorder in older adults.

Bipolar Disorders – An International Journal of Psychiatry and Neurosciences, which is the official journal of the Society, is published 8 times a year and is dedicated to publishing the results of all research relevant to the basic mechanisms, clinical aspects, or treatment of bipolar disorders.      

Our Executive Committee

  • View Bio Details

    Manuel Sanchez de Carmona, MD

  • View Bio Details

    Philip Mitchell, MBBS, MD, FRANZCP, FRCPsych

    Vice President of Governance
    University of New South Wales Australia
  • View Bio Details

    Charles Bowden, MD

    Vice President of Research
    University of Texas Health Science Center USA
  • View Bio Details

    Ayal Schaffer, MD, FRCPC

    Vice President of Education
    University of Toronto Canada
  • View Bio Details

    Pichet Udomratn, MD

    Vice President of Outreach
    Prince of Songkla University Thailand
  • View Bio Details

    Trisha Suppes, MD, PhD

    VA Palo Alto Health Care System USA
  • View Bio Details

    Willem A. Nolen, MD, PhD

    Immediate Past President
    The Netherlands

Board of Councilors

  • Mohammad Alsuwaidan, MD, MPH, FRCPC

  • Michael Bauer, MD, PhD

  • Philip Boyce, MD

  • André Carvalho, MD, PhD

  • Marcelo Cetkovich-Bakmas, MD

  • Allen Doederlein

  • Mark Frye, MD

  • Ana González-Pinto, MD

  • Roger S. McIntyre, MD, FRCPC

  • Aysegul Özerdem, MD, PhD

  • Sagar Parikh, MD, FRCPC

  • Janardhan Reddy, MD

  • Juan Undurraga, MD, PhD

  • Muffy Walker, MSN, MBA

  • Gang Wang, MD, PhD


Our Staff

  • Chad Daversa

    Executive Director
    P:+1 412 624 4402
  • Jill Olds

    Membership & Outreach Director
    P:+1 412 648 3301
  • Christina Paternoster

    Program Manager
    P:+1 412 624 4492
  • Jen Schuchman

    Administrative & Outreach Assistant
    P:+1 412 624 4407

Join Our Community

Join ISBD today to forge connections, share knowledge, and access updated resources.

Explore Member Benefits

Learn more about the career development, education, networking, and other opportunities that come with an ISBD membership.

What We Do

ISBD is devoted to promoting understanding and reducing the stigma surrounding bipolar disorder through education and outreach.